I interviewed the owner of this charming little food stall on Broadway Market for an article about embracing traditional British dishes.

Prior to this interview and trying out the goods, Scotch eggs would not have made this American’s list of Top 5 Delicious British Foods. I was initially suspicious of these eggs since they’re usually eaten cold or at room temperature — what’s the point of frying something if it’s not eaten right away?  But I was wrong. These things are delicious. And the Scotch egg has officially knocked meat pies off my list.

After a few tries in London, I was ready to show off my new British egg trick to friends back home. I made them for a potluck at Bettie’s in LA and people loved them. They also marveled at how exotic they seemed. So to my fellow Americans readers out there, here’s a quick primer to making a Scotch egg.

Boil an egg for seven minutes, then quickly immerse it in an ice bath. Carefully remove the shell.

Flatten about 90 grams of sausage meat (roughly a small link taken out of its casing) per egg into a circular shape. Massage the meat around the egg so that the egg is completely covered in the ground meat. Let the covered egg sit in the fridge for about ten minutes to set.

Dredge the meat-encased egg in flour, then in beaten egg and finally coat it in breadcrumbs. (I use panko.)

Then deep fry the whole darn thing, for about 5 minutes.

My flatmate and I had a little supper party and we served Scotch eggs as the starter, alongside with greens and crispy root vegetables.

YUM!

I play around with different kinds of seasonings for the ground pork whenever I make them: fennel, pasley, chives or for a lazy cook like me, whatever herbs and spices I had on hand.

It’s a bit time consuming but it’s a lot of fun to make and they’re worth the effort. While you can find a dodgy factory-made Scotch egg at every petrol station in England, it’s trickier to find them in the US. Totally worth making at home to take on a picnic.

